Cricket South Africa have named three new caps in the Proteas Test squad for the three-match series against India in October. Warriors’ duo of fast bowler Anrich Nortje and wicketkeeper/batsman Rudi Second as well as Dolphins spin bowling all-rounder Senuran Muthusamy have made the cut.  There are also three newcomers in the squad for the three-match T20 International series – Highveld Lions duo; batsman Temba Bavuma and spin bowling all-rounder Bjorn Fortuin together with Nortje.

Quinton de Kock will captain the T20 squad with Rassie van der Dussen as vice-captain while Temba Bavuma will be the vice-captain to Faf du Plessis in the Test match squad. Aiden Markram, Theunis de Bruyn and Lungi Ngidi were not considered for T20 selection as they will be continuing their preparation for the Test series by playing in South Africa A’s four-day matches against India A. CSA also announced that all-rounder Chris Morris did not make himself available for selection.